Double World F1 Champion Lewis Hamilton won the BBC Sports Personality of the year award for 2014 ahead of Joe Pavey in third spot and Rory Mcllroy in second place.

The 60th anniversary SPOTY night also saw The England Ladies World Cup winning Cricket team win Team of the year, Europe’s Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley winning Coach of the Year and Sir Chris Hoy winning a Lifetime achievement award.

The SPOTY Page was posted “By Mike Armstrong”